"Self driving cars" are a growing menace to cyclists and pedestrians

Self driving car are never going to be safe in anything but the most controlled of conditions. I’m a long term software developer and I would never trust any driving aids more complex than regular old cruise control and, to a lesser extent, proximity sensors that alert a fully in control human driver of things nearby. This Tesla tried to veer into a bollard separated bike lane.

Tesla FSD Beta Caught Hitting Something On Camera (jalopnik.com)

5 Likes

Driver-assist, especially the way Tesla is implementing it, is just following current patterns of driver sociopathy. I got a loaner car from my mechanic and it was the first car I’ve ever driven that has driver-assist features. It’s a Honda Civic Sport. I do not like it.