Pedestrian Killed in Portland

Another pedestrian killed. Hit and run. My condolences to the family of the victim.

The lack of enforcement of any type has turned Portland into a “failed municipality”. Law breakers and criminals know there will likely be zero repercussions for their actions. It’s like the Wild West of yesteryear. Very Sad. Stay safe.

1 Like

I quit walking in my neighborhood as often (used to be daily) as I used to because of the majority of car drivers ignoring the rules. Once upon a time seeing someone blow through a stop sign was rare. Now it occurs many many times as there’s no enforcement of basic traffic laws anymore and the drivers know it.
Being a driver myself I do stop, I do look both directions, I do try and drive the limit (much to the consternation of drivers behind me). There’s just no excuse for their behavior.

2 Likes

I frequently drive this section at night returning from my kid’s soccer practice. More times than not, I’d say, there’s a hard-to-see pedestrian crossing the road. Definitely could use a couple lighted & signaled crosswalks around here.

Police should be making contact with occupied derelict vehicles with registration violations to check license, registration and insurance so that uninsured vehicles and those in possession of an unlicensed driver o public right of way can be towed away before they’re involved in incidents.

PBOT should also be more aggressively towing away vehicles with significant lapse in registration so they can’t be claimed back without showing proof of insurance.

1 Like

What do vehicles with registration violations have to do with these two deaths Chopwatch?

3 Likes

Jonathan,