PedElecs, body language, and Energy Slaves

I’m no expert when it comes to the nuances of e-bikes but I thought I had learned in the pages of bikeportland that by statute ebikes sold in the US (Oregon) were required to (in some way) couple the throttle to the pedaling action; in other words that unlike a motorcycle/an electric vehicle you couldn’t sit back and let the throttle do (all) the work for you. But it seems I misunderstood, because of late I’ve come upon people whose body language leaves no doubt about the fact that while they are sitting on a bike the forward motion is entirely unrelated to their metabolism. When you get closer of course all becomes clear: an e-machine.
When you’ve unconsciously always coupled the sight of someone on a bike with the physical effort we all know so well it can be disorienting at first to realize the two are not necessarily coupled anymore.

Did I misunderstand? Or are these bikes I’m seeing operated in this manner hacked somehow?

1 Like

People do illegal conversions to their bikes all the time. My favorite is the gasoline motor add-ons. Must be fun to ride what sounds and smells like a weed-whacker.

Here’s a reply from the City of Eugene, Bike/Ped Coordinator regarding throttles: “Oregon doesn’t have the three class system like you described. Below are state laws and links that I use for e-bikes. Ray Thomas does offer his opinion about throttles:https://www.tcnf.legal/app/uploads/2018/08/Oregon-E-Bike-Rights-A-Legal-Guide-for-Electric-Bike-Riders.pdf
One of our ATC members (Steve Abbott) has been working on financial incentives e-bike purchases and has talked with EWEB, state legislators, and Congressman DeFazio. I sent him the information about the e-bike webinar.”
801.258 “Electric assisted bicycle.” “Electric assisted bicycle” means a vehicle that:

(1) Is designed to be operated on the ground on wheels;

(2) Has a seat or saddle for use of the rider;