Muddy Leif Erickson Trail Etiquette?

I’m new to off-road cycling. I know in the mountain biking community it’s important to not ride muddy single track since it causes damage to the trail. Does that apply to cycling Leif Erickson in the mud/rain? I’m thinking no since it’s a big road, but wanted to check in. Any good places where one can politely bike off-road in the rain for 20 or so miles? The shorter the drive from SW Portland the better.

I’m hoping to check out Crown Z in a week or two, so curious about etiquette/possible mud damage there too.

Yeah, that’s just a fire road. Go nuts; no harm.

1 Like

Leif is fine. Just please don’t poach Wildwood or other trails that prohibit bikes in Forest Park. Unfortunately, there are some who do, even in the muddiest conditions.

1 Like

I say poach the trails. There should be consequences for all the obstructionist/elitist NIMBYs who’ve blocked bike trails or trail sharing in the park for decades. Show public officials and park administrators that the is demand for mtbing in FP by actually using the trails. If there are erosion concerns (though you don’t see them closing Wildwood to hikers who also cause accelerated erosion in wet conditions), I’m 100% sure mtbers will be will willing to put in work to maintain the trails.

1 Like

I disagree strongly. But whatever.

If you’re going to trash the trails, I hope you have the integrity to actually sign up to do volunteer work in Forest Park, instead of just talking about it on anonymous forums while you encourage other people to violate rules.

1 Like