Bike gutters, channels, stairway ramps...what are these called and why are they so poorly placed?

Hi. I’ve only been in Portland a year and am curious about the name used by the city team that ddoes placement/installation of bike gutters, channels, stairway wheel ramps, whatever they are called. My Food Not Bombs friends and I haul food. We use panniers, bucket panniers, rack crates, and kid trailers to haul food. It’s impossible to get our bikes up these “gutters” because they are usually next to a wall and only fit bikes without cargo. Since I’m new here and don’t want to reinvent the wheel, are there folks trying to work w/the city to make these gutters cargo friendly? Thank you!

I have no particular knowledge on this topic, but I would guess that placing them away from the edge would present a tripping hazard to people on foot trying to walk up and down the stairs. Only a wheelchair ramp with wide corners would be safely navigable by all users, I think.

1 Like

I think if they were in the center, people walking up and down could have access to stair handrails. But I also see your point. If they were bright green gutters (eg: bike lane style) , they would be well marked.

And there’s the problem: there are thousands of ways to haul stuff by bike, yet few ways to push a bicycle up a flight of stairs. A one-design-fits-all approach is not going to happen. Thankfully there are elevators and alternate routes for just about every staircase I can think of. What’s keeping you from making a slight detour to accommodate the particulars of your setup?

We ARE detouring but we shouldn’t have to. A bike-friendly city/future demands access for bike delivery cargo esp. as we phase out of fossil fuels.

1 Like

It’s not realistic to accommodate every single minority interest. The request you’re asking for is perhaps relevant to 1/50th of 1% of population and public agencies must consider if expending public resource for something like this is reasonable.