Avoiding bike theft, safeR bike parking

Hi everyone. I am new to Portland and have a Terry Classic bike- women’s specific design- smaller front wheel. It’s pefect for me and a very rare (and no longer made) bike. I want to use my bike more…but i pretty much only feel safe walking and driving for groceries and such because I’m very concerned about theft. Wondering if any grocery stores within 3 miles of downtown/PSU have bike security folks. Even locking a bike with a u-lock seems unsafe. So hesitant to ride my bike as a primary mode of transpo due to lack of enclosed bike cages/lockers to deter theft. Please advise/comment. Thank you.

2 Likes

I think your intuition is correct: that there are no bike security folks downtown and that locking up a bike that you simply can’t have stolen is an unacceptable risk.

I’m pretty familiar with the downtown shopping situation and I can’t really think of any place where you can entirely rest assured that your bike will be there when you get done shopping. I think the only way to square this is to ride your bike with the knowledge that you’ll probably be fine but know that it could get taken, OR, get a secondary bike which you are far more willing to see stolen.

These probably weren’t the suggestions you were looking for but the sad truth is that we as bike commuters find ourselves in a state of affairs where bikes are easy targets and the powers that be don’t really have a solution for it.

1 Like

You might want to call ahead to ask but Green Zebra on Broadway at Montgomery has always let me roll my bike inside.

Thanks!!! Green Zebra is just a few blocks from my condo. I’m more concerned about places like Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, Fred Meyers, Natural Grocers, and the ridiculously expensive New Seasons, etc… Until Portland retailers, especially groceries, have bike security, people will still rely on their cars.

Welcome to Portland @amyvegan :grin: